Draining the Swamp: Gvt Dissolves Boards of Directors of 60 Parastatal Organizations

LILONGWE, Malawi: In what many people have described as “draining the swamp”, the new Tonse Alliance government has dissolved Boards of Directors of 60 Parastatal organizations.

A statement from the Office of the Chief Secretary to the Government says the dissolution is with immediate effect.

Below is the full list of organisations affected:

1. Agriculture Development and Marketing Corporation (ADMARC)

2. Electricity Supply Commission of Malawi LTD (ESCOM)

3. Malawi Housing Corporation (MHC)

4. Airport Development Limited (ADL)

5. Malawi College of Accountancy (MCA)

6. Lilongwe Water Board (LWB)

7. Electricity Generation Company Limited (EGENCO)

8. Southern Region Water Board (SRWB)

9. Malawi Institute of Management (MIM)

10. Malawi Posts Corporation (MPC)

11. National Food Reserve Agency (NFRA)

12. Northern Region Water Board (NRWB)

13. Blantyre Water Board (BWB)

14. Central Region Water Board (CRWB)

15. National Oil Company of Malawi (NOCMA)

16. Malawi Enterprise Development Fund (MEDF)

17. Umodzi Holdings Limited (UHL)

18. Technical Entrepreneurial, Vocational Education and Training Authority (TEVETA)

19. National Construction Industry Council (NCIC)

20. Malawi Communications Regulatory Authority (MACRA)

21. Copyright Society of Malawi (COSOMA)

22. Tobacco Commission (TC)

23. Pharmacy Medicines and Poisons Board (PMPB)

24. Malawi Gaming Board (MGB)

25. Malawi Accountants Board (MAB)

26. Malawi Bureau of Standards (MBS)

27. Malawi Digital Broadcasting Network (MDBNL)

28. Central Medical Stores Trust (CMST)

29. Lilongwe Handling Company (LIHACO)

30. Cotton Council of Malawi(CCM)

31. Air Cargo Malawi Limited(ACM)

32. Malawi Broadcasting Corporation (MBC)

33. University of Malawi (UNIMA)

34. Malawi National Examinations Board (MANEB)

35. Malawi College of Health Sciences (MCHS)

36. Malawi University of Science and Technology (MUST)

37. Mzuzu University (MZUNI)

38. Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources LUANAR

39. Roads Authority (RA)

40. Small and Medium Entrepreneurs Development Institute (SMEDI)

41. Malawi Institute of Education (MIE)

42. Medical Council of Malawi (MCM)

43. Nurses and Midwives Council of Malawi (NMCM)

44. Malawi Investment Trade Centre (MICT)

45. Malawi National Commission for UNESCO (MNC-UNESCO)

46. National Herbarium and Botanical Gardens (NHBG)

47. National Library Services (NLS)

48. National Youth Council of Malawi (NYCM)

49. National Commission of Science and Technology (NCST)

50. National Council for Higher Education (NCHE)

51. National Water Resources Authority (NWRA)

52. Malawi Council for the Handicapped MACOHA)

53. Malawi National Council for Sports (MNCS)

54. Competitions and Fair Trading Committee (CFTC)

55. Atomic Energy Regulatory Authority (AERA)

56. Higher Education Students Loans and Grants Board (HESLGB)

57. Public Private Partnership Commission (PPPC)

58. National Water Resources Authority (NWRA)

59. Malawi Environmental Protection Authority (MEPA)

60. National Aids Commission (NAC)